Chefs who Share Young Chef Award 2016 Finalists announced!


imageThe seven talented Young Chef Award 2016 Finalists have been announced for Chefs who Share – the ART of Giving, the winner being announced at the Chefs who Share Gala Dinner in Johannesburg on 24 September.

A total of 77 chefs under the age of 30 years was invited to participate in the Chefs who Share Young Chef Award 2016 competition. The brief was to design a creative canapé for the Chefs who Share Gala Dinner. Not only will the canapés of the seven Finalist Young Chefs be served at the Gala Dinner, but they will also work alongside the fourteen local and international chefs in cooking for the Gala Dinner, esteemed chefs such as Margot Janse of Le Quartier Français, Marthinus Ferreira of DW Eleven-13, Chris Erasmus  of Foliage, Vineet Bhatia from London, Vincent Rodier of LUX* Resort & Hotels in Mauritius, and Dirk Gieselmann of the Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff.  The winning Young Chef will be judged on the creativity of the canapé, as well as on his/her team spirit, ability to work with top chefs, personality, and skill to be an ambassador for our country and for Chefs who Share.

The winner of the Chefs who Share Young Chef 2016 will win a trip to Europe, flown by Swiss International Air Lines, and will work in a Michelin-star restaurant. The prize includes a visit to the Moët & Chandon headquarters in Épernay, to experience the culinary and oenological highlights in Champagne. The selection of the Young Chef Award 2016 will be made by Reto Mathis, Swiss International Air Lines Ambassador, and by Lentswe Bhengu, Ambassador for the Young Chef Award.

The seven Chefs Who Share Young Chef Award 2016 Finalists are the following:

#   Conrad van den Heever of Greenhouse

#   Anand Bhana of Hartford House, who is a Finalist for the second year running

#   Blaine Robert Coetzee of Leeu Estate

#   David Graham-Parker of Level Four

#   Lee-Andra Govender of Roots

#   Elize Benson of Roots

#   Anthonie James Van Zyl of Tokara

The judges for the Chefs who Share Young Chef Award 2016 were Lentswe Bhengu, Young Chef Award Ambassador and TV chef; Chef Sue-Ann Allen; Chef Jason Whitehead; Carianne Wilkinson, Vice Principal of Silwood Kitchen; Tessa Purdon, Food24 editor; Chef Tracey Younghusband; and Florian Gast, co-founder of Chefs who Share.

The Chefs who Share Young Chef Award 2016 has the potential to change the lives and to promote the growth and development of the finalists generally, and of its winner specifically.  Last year the Young Chef Award was won by Jamie-Lee Saunders of Grootbos.

Chefs who Share – The ART of Giving’ 2016. Tickets and/or enquiries, e-mail Twitter: @ChefswhoShare

Chris von Ulmenstein, WhaleTales Blog:  Tel +27 082 55 11 323 Twitter:@WhaleCottage  Facebook:  click here Instagram: @Chris_Ulmenstein


Please follow and like us:
Tweet 27k

WhaleTales Blog


We don’t spam!

Read our privacy policy for more info.